New Canadian Library

Begun in 1958 by Jack McClelland and Malcolm Ross, the NCL was the first paperback series dedicated solely to Canadian literature. From its inception, it has been synonymous with the best that has been thought, felt, and written in Canada, and it has ensured that major books have remained in print and readily accessible to the reading public. Spanning more than two hundred years of writing in 100 titles, the series publishes the country‚Äôs greatest writers, including Margaret Atwood, Morley Callaghan, Margaret Laurence, Stephen Leacock, Hugh MacLennan, Michael Ondaatje, and Gabrielle Roy.

Ancient Lineage and Other Stories

More from the New Addition

The Diviners

Governor General's Award-Winning Books

Anne of Green Gables

Poetry Titles from the NCL

The Luck of Ginger Coffey

Featured Author: David Adams Richards

The Clockmaker

Featured Author: Gabrielle Roy

The Man from Glengarry

Featured Author: Sheila Watson

Two Solitudes

Turn-of-the-Century Classics

Such a Long Journey
The Tin Flute
Roughing It in the Bush
Lives of Short Duration
Man Descending